The Spirit War

Cover of the Spirit War by Rachel Aaron. Picture of a man standing on the side of a mountain by Sam Weber.
Art by Sam Weber. Click through to read a preview on Amazon!

Title: The Spirit War

Series: The… Chronicles of Eli Monpress? 1

Author: Rachel Aaron

Nutshell: Eli Monpress is looking for his next big score, and checking on his slowly burgeoning bounty, when he gets a shock. The most ordinary member of his crew is now the most wanted. The island nation, Osera, is offering the entire worth of their country for Josef. What’s more, Josef is turning himself in.

Meanwhile, Miranda Lyonette is finally getting some answers from the shapers. Answers that point to a dark conspiracy surrounding the very nature of reality. If only people would stop having their regular old wars, she could get some serious progress made on saving the world.

Readalikes: I’ve still only got Stormlight and the Codex Alera for you.Read More »

The Body in the Library

Cover of The Body in the Library by Agatha Christie. Cover of words on shelves by Michael P. Correy.
Cover by Michael P. Correy. Click to read an excerpt!

Title: The Body in the Library

Author: Agatha Christie

Nutshell: Miss Marple’s friend, Mrs. Bantry calls in a panic. There is the body of a dead woman in her library! Neither she nor the Colonel have ever seen the woman before. Will Miss Marple please come and have a look round to see what she thinks of the affair?

The dead girl turns out to be Ruby Keene, a dancer for a nearby hotel, who was mixed up in nothing, and nobody has anything remarkable at all to say about her. Miss Marple must use all her insight to crack this case.

Read-alikes: Dorothy Sayers is very like Christie. Their faintly satirical portrayal of their characters is similar.

Read More »

Maximum Ride

Cover of Maximum Ride by James Patterson. Cover art of a teen girl with white hair by Larry Rostant.
Art by Larry Rostant. Click to read an excerpt!

Title: Maximum Ride

Author: James Patterson

Nutshell: Max and her flock are winged children, products of genetic experimentation. They’ve escaped their lab and are hiding out in the mountains when their past shows up. The enforcers from their lab appear suddenly, snatch the youngest, and run off, leaving the others panicked and scared. Max won’t leave any of them in the hands of evil, and so they launch a rescue mission, that turns into a cross-country flight. But their creators have secrets and surprises in store. As the children’s special gifts begin to develop, they must push them to the limit to keep their freedom.

Read-Alikes: Growing Wings, by Laurel Winter

Read More »

The Dark Talent

Cover of The Dark Talent by Brandon Sanderson. Art of a team of quirky heroes by Scott Brundage.
Cover art by Scott Brundage. Click through to read an excerpt of book one on Amazon!

Title: The Dark Talent

Series: Alcatraz versus the Evil Librarians 1

Author: Brandon Sanderson

Nutshell: The world is not what you think it is. You live in the Hushlands, the territory controlled by the Evil Librarians, who supress your knowledge and technology. But somewhere out there are the Free Kingdoms, a place of unbridled knowledge and wondrous technology. Start your search-

What? Yes, I said librarians. Yes, I meant those nice, little, old ladies with horn-rimmed glasses. They’re sneaky.

Alcatraz can tell you. Alcatraz Smedry was a foster child in despair because he broke almost everything he touched, but when he received a box of sand for his birthday, he learned the truth.

What? Yes, sand. It was a very momentous occasion. Stop interrupting.

His grandfather, Leavenworth Smedry, rescues him and explains that he is the last in a long line of powerfully gifted people. His cousin, Kaz, can speak in gibberish. Leavenworth himself is always late. And Alcatraz? He breaks stuff! So incredible!

What? Of course I’m serious. If I have to tell you one more time…

So Alcatraz embarks on an epic, zany, sarcastic quest to save the world, find his parents, and discover the truth. Like how penguins are rocket-propelled, how France is a deception, and how to use found objects to do almost anything.

Read this book. Read all these books. Read. Every. Page.

That is all the guidance I can give you. Good luck.

 

1 This is the fifth book in a series. The Nutshell will be for the series. The Ramblings will be for the book, with spoilers for previous books.

Read-alikes: Lemony Snicket’s Unfortunate Events is very like this in tone. Randoms is like it more overall.Read More »

The Cloak Society

Cover of The Cloak Society by Jaramey Kraatz. Art by Michael Komarck.
Art by Michael Komarck. Click to read an excerpt!

Title: The Cloak Society

Author: Jeramey Kraatz

Nutshell: Alex Knight is just your average, ordinary supervillain-in-training. He knows, of course, that there are heroes to oppose him, but he has grown up believing that his parents are owed their due, that they will be better for the world if only they’re given a chance. He has also been raised in a top-secret, underground bunker, allowed topside only with permission and two adults. Talk about your controlled socialization. I’m all for homeschooling, but this is extreme.

Alex and his friends are finally given a chance to prove to the world (or at least Sterling City) that they deserve to be rulers when their parents assign them the job of stealing a valuable diamond from the bank. It seems like an easy job until the Junior Justice Rangers arrive. During the fight, Alex acts on instinct to keep one of the Rangers from being killed. That instinct causes everyone to question him, and so he begins to question himself.

Read-alikes: The Artemis Fowl books, by Eoin Colfer, or for the grown-up audience, the Reckoners series by Brandon Sanderson.Read More »

Shadowed Souls

Cover of Shadowed Souls edited by Jim Butcher and Kerrie L. Hughes. Art by Chris McGrath
Art by Chris McGrath. Click through to read an excerpt on Amazon!

Title: Shadowed Souls

Author: This is an anthology

Nutshell:  Jim Butcher and Kerrie L. Hughes put together this anthology of stories about people on the fringes of mundanity, steeped in the supernatural world. As with any anthology, within the parameters the editors set is a great variety.

Molly Carpenter faces the challenges of working for Queen Mab while facing a bizarre cult in Alaska.

Peacock, street thief indentured to some kind of supernatural mob tycoon, steals a soul from Hell.

Elsie Harrington, half-demon, gets kidnapped from a roller derby by the local D&D group.

It’s a dark and occasionally quirky collection of stories for the urban fantasy reader.

Read-alikes: Any of the authors’s other works are of course like this. Jim Butcher and Kat Richardson are the ones I’m familiar with. Simon Greene, though I didn’t care for the book of his I read, is quite like.Read More »

Avalon

Cover of Avalon by Mindee Arnett. Art by Josh Dutra.
Art by Josh Dutra. Click to read an excerpt!

Title: Avalon

Author: Mindee Arnett

Nutshell: Jethro Seagrave is a teen in a predicament. He and the members of his crew are basically indentured to a crime lord, one Hammer Dafoe. (Dafoe? Really? Okay then.) Hammer uses Jeth and his crew to boost ships, stealing the irreplaceable stardrives within. But when his latest job sends the crew into the most mysterious sector of space to steal a ship with a top-secret weapon, Jethro uses the danger to bargain a deal: He gets to go free on his ship in exchange for the job. Hammer gives his word. All Jethro has to do is give him the ship, and find some leverage to help Hammer keep his promise. The secret on the stolen ship might help with that.

Readalikes: Timothy Zahn’s Dragon and Rider Series is most like this. His Icarus Hunt is also similar, as well as Star Wars books that feature a primarily space-located Han Solo, such as The Han Solo Trilogy and parts of the Jedi Academy Trilogy.Read More »