Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports

Cover of Saving the World by James Patterson. Art of two teens standing back to back by Larry Rostant.
Art by Larry Rostant. Click to read an excerpt!

Title: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports

Series: Maximum Ride, book 3 (Spoilers ahead for preceeding books. Use discretion.)

Author: James Patterson

Nutshell: Maximum Ride, winged and sassy, is determined to save the world, if only so that people will leave her alone. She has the name of the big bad corporation, and an inkling of their evil plan. All she has to do now is foil it. Her assets are: Five other bird kids with various secondary powers, a talking dog, a reject wolfman, a schizophrenic hacker, a voice in her head, and a sarcastic bad attitude. Isn’t that all you need?

Readalikes:Read More »

Heart’s Blood

Cover of Heart's Blood. Art of a woman in green looking into an enchanted mirror by Melanie Delon.
Art by Melanie Delon. Click to read an excerpt!

Title: Heart’s Blood

Author: Juliet Marillier

Nutshell: This is very simple to nutshell: A female scribe in Medieval Ireland finds herself in a Beauty and the Beast tale under threat of Norman invasion.

Readalikes: Mrs. Marillier’s Sevenwaters books are also fairytales made real in Medieval Ireland. Mercedes Lackey’s Arthurian tale Gwenhwyfar: the White Spirit is another in this vein.

Read More »