The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Cover of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. Art of vintage letters wrapped in a ribbow by Christian Raoul Skrein von Bumbala.
Art by Christian Raoul Skrein von Bumbala. Click to read an excerpt!

Title: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

Author: Mary Ann Schaffer

Nutshell: World War Two is over, and for Juliet Ashton, sometime writer of a war humour column, so is the Muse of Comedy. Juliet is sick of making fun of war, and ready to write something completely new. As she tours England, two unexpected things happen. The first is that a rich, handsome man begins to court her. The second is that she recieves a letter from one Dawsey Adams, inhabitant of the Island of Guernsey in the English Channel, who owns a book that used to be hers. It’s collected writings of Charles Lamb, and he adores them and wonders if she might know of a place where he could acquire more?

Juliet, intrigued, has her favorite bookseller hunt down a volume which she sends with her reply, asking about his literary passions. He explains that he is a member of the Society given by the title of the book, which came about during the war in order to prevent their being arrested by Germans, and that only serves to fascinate her more. How could a literary society prevent arrest? Wherefore the Potato Peel Pie? And so she begins to correspond with the members of the Society, discovering the extraordinary story of one community’s occupation by Germans in WWII, and their reconstruction.

Readalikes: I have not read much WWII fiction since my girlhood. If you wish to delve deeper into the experiences of those caught in the Holocaust, The Hiding Place and Number the Stars are two excellemt choices. For those wanting more historical fiction in this style, Sorcery and Cecelia and sequals are also told through correspondence. The characters and narrative story are rather like Dorothy Sayers, without the mystery aspect.

Read More »

Airborn

Cover of Airborn by Kenneth Oppel. Art of a young man peering through a spyglass from the top of a dirigible by Peter Riddihoff.
Art by Peter Riddihoff. Click to read an excerpt!

Title: Airborn

Author: Kenneth Oppel

Nutshell: Matt Cruise was meant to fly. Being a cabin boy on the Aurora is as natural as breathing for him, even climbing on the outside of the envelope. And it’s there, outside, as the lookout, that he spots a damaged balloon drifting through the skies. When the crew brings in on board, they find Benjamin Malloy, an explorer who claims he’s seen “beautiful creatures” in the clouds. Unfortunately, Benjamin is feverish and dies shortly, and the rest of the crew write his words off as the ravings of a dying man.

Then Kate deVries, Malloy’s granddaughter, books passage on the Aurora. She believes her grandfather’s dying claims, and is determined to prove them. Matt becomes her willing companion, but they encounter obstacles as ordinary as an overzealous chaperone and as dangerous as pirates.

Read-Alikes: Agatha H. and the Airship City, by Phil and Kaja Folio is… tangentially similar.

Read More »